Patient Reviews

At Digestive Health Associates of Texas, we are a physician-led network with a patient-minded center. That means that no matter what, our patients come first. We value you, and we want you and your family to live as long and as comfortably as possible. When you visit our Dallas, TX or surrounding area offices, you can rest assured that your health is our number-one priority. But we also know that it's tough trying to find a GI doctor you love. We're happy to provide the below reviews so you can get to know what we're about from past and present patients who have been in your shoes. Once you review the below feedback, we'd love the chance to talk to you about how we can help you!

5.0 Review from M.T. Source: Google Sep 17 2022

"I am a patient of Dr. Lisa Alvarez and was very delighted her and her care."

5.0 Review from E.C. Source: Google Jun 09 2022

"Dr. Alvarez is amazing! She is attentive, responsive, and very knowledgeable. She also is very kind and calm in a setting that can be quite stressful for the patient. Having previously been to other GI's, I feel lucky to have found Dr. Alvarez, and will continue to share her info with anyone and everyone I know looking for a GI."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Mar 29 2022

"Very thorough and spends lots of time answering questions. Thankful for the procedures she ordered that revealed answers to my concerns."

5.0 Review from C.G. Source: Google Jan 08 2022

"I have a excellent experience with Dr Alvarez , she is very professional , she is concern about my digestive issues so she’s always keeping in touch with me"

5.0 Review from A.W. Source: Google Jan 08 2022

"Dr. Lisa has been instrumental in getting me healthy. I cant thank her and her team enough for the care and insight."

5.0 Review from E.A. Source: Google Jan 08 2022

"Excellent Doctor"

5.0 Review from K.T. Source: Google Dec 23 2021

"Dr Alvarez is an amazing Doctor she actually listened to my problems I had to have a procedure done my appointment was at 9am was told to arrive at 8 am I was finished at 930am back home in bed by 1100 am Awesome service Bedside manners are 💯 made me feel comfortable. Woke up with results and meditation complete in mychart she also explained my results to me that means a lot Thanks Dr Alvarez"

5.0 Review from R.T. Source: Google Dec 21 2021

"I am very grateful to have found Dr. Lisa Alvarez. After seeing many specialist over the years, she is by far the best. She takes her time to genuinely listen to my concerns and answers all my questions. Her bedside manner is incredible. I feel valued as a person when I attend my appointments with her. I feel confident that she will be able to give me a solid treatment plan based on the results of pending tests. Thank you Dr. Alvarez!"

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google Oct 22 2021

"Very pleasant and knows her game!"

5.0 Review from R.A. Source: Google Aug 27 2021

"I was referred to Dr Lisa Alvarez several years ago. I have found her to be attentive to her patients. I would definitely recommend Dr Alvarez and the staff is good too."

5.0 Review from E.H. Source: Google Aug 25 2021

"Dr. Alvarez is an excellent doctor. She listen carefully to all your concerns and is really interested in your health. She performed an endoscopy and colonoscopy and I had zero discomfort. I highly recommend her for all your gastric issues."

5.0 Review from L.T. Source: Google Aug 16 2021

"Dr. Alvarez is Amazing!! If your looking for a good doctor that cares about the patients needs she's definitely the one.. You won't be disappointed.."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Jul 20 2021

"Dr. Alvarez is very thorough and professional."

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google Jun 20 2021

"I have had nothing but great experiences with Dr. Lisa Alvares. She is very knowledgeable and very professional. I would highly recommend her to anyone needing her services."

5.0 Review from J.J. Source: Google May 22 2021

"Highly recommended!"

5.0 Review from L.J. Source: Google Mar 15 2021

"I love Dr. Alvarez! She explains the results to your procedure and answers your questions thoroughly will being very patient."

5.0 Review from K.A. Source: Google Jan 21 2021

"Ashley, Dr. Alvarez's PA was utterly amazing! She thoroughly explained my diagnoses, mapped out a clear plan for healing and gave me tips on how to live my best despite my digestive problems. She didn't "look down" on me when I explained the supplements I was taking as many physicians do. This, I greatly appreciated! The facility was clean, check-in was smooth and checking-out was a breeze as well. I highly recommend Dr. Alvarez and her staff!"

5.0 Review from F.C. Source: Google Nov 25 2020

"I had a colonoscopy today, everybody were awesome, thank y'all! Dr. Alvarez is very professional and also her team"

5.0 Review from E.J. Source: Google Nov 15 2020

"Dr. Alvarez is a great Doctor and she takes the time to know what.to do."

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Nov 04 2020

"Great experience, anyone that is nervous about having this done I was the same but I was calm the second I walked in there to have my procedure done. (Colonoscopy)"

5.0 Review from E.F. Source: Google Oct 07 2020

"Dr. Alvarez has been my Gastroenterologist for many years now, and she does an excellent job of coordinating care with my GP and Rheumatologist. She is a fantastic, thorough, and kind physician, who really cares about her patients. I cannot say enough good things about her."

5.0 Review from E.J. Source: Google Oct 06 2020

"Dr. Alvarez is wonderful. I really feel fortunate to have her as my doctor. She is a great listener and she try new medications. She has a great assistant as well. Tina Marie."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Oct 03 2020

"Dr. Alvarez is the best gastrointerologist I have been to. She is very proactive in all situations. I appreciate her honesty and approach to getting a problem taken care of in a timely manner. She is a great doctor."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Oct 03 2020

"I had a Tele-visit with Dr. Alvarez and she was thorough, professional, all & all an amazing Gastro doctor! Thanks!"

5.0 Review from M.T. Source: Google Oct 02 2020

"Dr Alvarez is a great Doctor. She cares about every patient and their over-all health. I have had colonoscopy and throat scopes which were very easy. Dr Alvarez has really helped me with my gastro issues. She is great with follow-up and treatment plans. I would recommend her to everyone."

5.0 Review from S.J. Source: Google Sep 30 2020

"Dr. Alvarez is great! She's easy to ask questions of. She explains things well, taking enough time when I meet w her. Televisits are possible...a bonus in these times. Actually even during normal times! I'd recommend her to anyone."

5.0 Review from L.P. Source: Google Sep 09 2020

"My care is on-going with Dr. Alvarez. I have found Dr. Alvarez to be a caring doctor who that takes a thorough approach to diagnose her patients' individual needs. I would definitely recommend Dr. Lisa Alvarez, Gastroenterologist to my family or friends."

5.0 Review from D.G. Source: Google Aug 22 2020

"Dr. Alvarez is amazing! She listens, cares and creates a health plan that works for you. Each experience with her is a joy and I know she cares about me. I highly recommend her for your health needs. Her staff is also amazing!"

5.0 Review from A.C. Source: Google Aug 18 2020

"Dr Alverez is an amazing Gastro. She is right on top of everything. Gets back to you quickly. I fee so at ease with and is able to ask her any questions. She is calm but checks everything out."

5.0 Review from C.I. Source: Google May 26 2020

"These is not first time when i go to see doctor alvarez .Always, with full knowledge, she is take care my issue what the reason i visit her office ."

5.0 Review from J.R. Source: Google Feb 25 2020

"Dr. Alvarez is kind, thorough and caring. Highly recommend!"

5.0 Review from S.P. Source: Google Feb 14 2020

"Dr. Alvarez and her staff are phenomenal! If you are in need of any of the services that her team provides, your provider search can begin and end with Dr. Alvarez."

5.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google Feb 09 2020

"Dr. Alvarez is a skillful, highly competent physician, and I’m totally confident in relying on her to guide me in managing my chronic conditions. She listens carefully and is kind and compassionate. My appointments always provide ample time with her, and she’ll discuss treatment ideas and options with me. My highest recommendation."

5.0 Review from B. Source: Google Feb 08 2020

"Dr. Alvarez is very caring. She did a great job on my recent upper and lower GI procedure. She cared well for my first wife before MS took her life."

5.0 Review from S.J. Source: Google Feb 08 2020

"Dr. Alvarez is just the young Dr. I needed! She is very cute, smart and most of all, talks to me, answering every question! ❤️"

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Feb 07 2020

"We entered this location and left within one hour in a half. DR. consulted with us and medicine required was at our pharmacy. This was an enjoyable visit and very organized location."

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google Feb 07 2020

"Dr. Alvarez and the entire staff at the Diagnostics Center at Walnut Hill were outstanding. Everyone treated me with the utmost kindness and consideration throughout the wait time, which was short, and the entire procedure which also seemed short. I’d highly recommend the entire establishment."

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google Jan 24 2020

"Great MD. No lie. She's an authority in GI related matters."

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google Jan 17 2020

"Dr. Alvarez is one of the best doctors I've ever had. She is patient, kind, and genuinely dedicated to helping patients - all of which is much rarer among doctors than it should be. She walks me through her thought process when diagnosing issues, why she is choosing to run certain tests, what I should expect from medications/procedures, and discusses treatment plan options with me in detail. She listens to my treatment goals instead of just chasing her own agenda or ignoring my experiences in order to go with the most obvious (yet incorrect) solution (again, this should be expected - but instead it's very rare among doctors I've been to). She clearly knows a lot about GI issues, and is able to explain things clearly but not condescendingly to laypeople. The only issue is that you have to make an appointment at least a month out - obviously, since she's such a good doctor, she's very popular and busy! (But I have not had any emergencies, so perhaps it's easier to see her on short notice if you have a time-sensitive issue.) I definitely recommend her!!"

5.0 Review from A.C. Source: Google Dec 31 2019

"Dr Alvarez is so kind and always answers question that I have. Makes you feel at ease. Her assistant is just like her. Calls back right away and always answers questions. Dr Alverez is one of the best Dr out there."

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google Dec 19 2019

"Today I had an appointment with Dr. Alvarez to follow up after a procedure I had several weeks ago. This was only the third time I have seen her. I am really impressed with the way she seems to really care and is interested in helping me. I appreciate the feeling of her sincerity and would definitely recommend her."

5.0 Review from C.L. Source: Google Dec 19 2019

"Great experience. Friendly, helpful, professional staff and Dr. Alvarez is excellent. She provides competent, compassionate service and takes the time to explain in layman's terms. I would definitely recommend this practice."

5.0 Review from L.R. Source: Google Oct 22 2019

"Dr Alvarez is very thorough and shows concern for my medical issues. She is easy to talk to and takes time to listen. Her office staff is friendly, helpful, and efficient."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Oct 21 2019

"Great experience, would highly recommend Dr Alvarez for GI needs"

5.0 Review from V.C. Source: Google Oct 20 2019

"She's exactly what I was looking for in a gastroenterologist. She listens to the patient, is understanding and thorough. Glad I chose her."

5.0 Review from J. Source: Google Oct 03 2019

"Dr. Alvarez is very knowledgeable in her field. She makes you feel comfortable when discussing your personal issues and gives you the time to do so. I would recommend her highly to anyone who needs her services."

5.0 Review from L.T. Source: Google Oct 02 2019

"The whole experience was great. Dr Alvarez and her staff and everyone at the facility were so nice and informative,I cannot say enough about how they made me so comfortable before and after the procedure. It is a great day for a screening!"

5.0 Review from K.A. Source: Google Sep 22 2019

"Excellent MD!"

5.0 Review from G.H. Source: Google Sep 13 2019

"Dr Lisa Alvarez is a Great Doctor"

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google Apr 26 2018

"I am giving Doctor Alvarez 5 stars because she seems to be a caring doctor that truly wants what's best for her patients. However, the office staff, specifically the woman that works at the front desk was extremely rude (not the lady with the grey hair and glasses, she was nice) to an elderly woman that had been sitting in the office, waiting for an hour and a half. When the elderly lady asked her how much longer, the woman scoffed at her and told her in a very condisending tone that they had to get a room for her. At this point, I get up from my chair to speak to the nice lady, and the rude lady interjects into the conversation with an attitude the size of Texas, 'I already told her we are waiting for a room'. I am appaled at the lack of caring or empathy this woman showed to someone 40 years older than her. Pathetic. Please teach your office staff to respect their elders."

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google Feb 07 2018

"Compassionate and excellent physician. Her communication skills are wondèful. Thank you Dr. Alvarez!"

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Dec 28 2017

"I worked with Dr. Alvarez before moving to Ohio and she was a great doctor to work for. She listened to her patient's and she showed compassion to each and everyone of them."